USM chancellor forms presidential search committee

By: Jonathan Munshaw, Editor-in-Chief

University System of Maryland Chancellor William Kirwan has assembled the presidential search committee for Towson to find a permanent replacement for former president Maravene Loeschke.

Loeschke resigned over winter break to continue her battle against cancer.

Timothy Chandler is the interim president, and was acting president in the fall when Loeschke was on a leave of absence to first address her health concerns.

Dave Kinkopf, a member of the USM Board of Regents and a lawyer at the firm of Gallagher, Evelius and Jones LLP, which is located in Baltimore, will chair the search committee.

The USM released a statement Wednesday announcing the committee.

“Chancellor Kirwan anticipates that the search and screening process will be completed within six months. The committee’s work will conclude with its recommendation of finalists for consideration by the chancellor and the Board of Regents. The board makes the final selection,” the statement reads.

Whoever is chosen to become the next president will be the fourth different person to serve as president at the University in the past five years.

After Robert Caret left the office in 2011, then-Provost Marcia Welsh took over as interim president before Loeschke was appointed to the position.

Below is a complete listing of the members of the search committee, per the USM’s release.

·         Myrna Cardin, chair of TU Board of Visitors

·         Don Fry, president and CEO of the Greater Baltimore Committee

·         LaVern Chapman, program specialist, TU Office of Diversity and Equal Opportunity

·         Janese Daniels, associate professor and graduate director, TU College of Education

·         Matt Durington, associate professor and director, TU International Studies Program

·         Karen Eskow, professor and chairperson, TU Department of Family Studies and Community Development

·         Tim Leonard, TU director of athletics

·         Tom Maronick, professor, TU Department of Marketing

·         Robyn Quick, professor and chairperson, TU Department of Theatre Arts

·         Kelly Rogan, TU Graduate Student Association

·         David Vanko, dean, TU Fisher College of Science & Mathematics

·         Brandon Wharton, TU Student Government Association

Leave a Reply


Success! You're on the list.