About

The Towerlight is the student-run news organization at Towson University in Baltimore, Maryland. The Towerlight operates on campus and exclusively employs Towson students and alumni but is independent of the University.

We are published by the 501(c)3 non-profit Baltimore Student Media, and our publications include The Towerlight weekly newspaper and the Towerlight Today daily email newsletter, as well as this website.

We rely entirely on advertising and charitable donations for our funding. For more information on donating to support independent student journalism, visit the “Please Donate” page on this site.             For more information on advertising, visit the “Advertising” page.

We encourage letters to the editor and online feedback. Commentaries, letters to the editor, editorial cartoons and other editorial content expresses the opinions of their authors and not necessarily the views of the newspaper.

To reach out to the paper’s editors, please visit our “Contact” page. To submit a letter, please email editor@thetowerlight.com and include “Letter” in the subject line.

To apply, please visit our office (Room 309 in the University Union) or email editor@thetowerlight.com

Mailing Address:

Baltimore Student Media
8000 York Road                                                                                     
Towson, Maryland 21252

Staff contact:

Editor-in-Chief: Jonathan Munshaw (editor@thetowerlight.com) or 410-704-5141

Senior Editor: Cody Boteler (senior@thetowerlight.com)

News Editor: Samantha Shelton (news@thetowerlight.com)

Arts and Life Editor: Carley Milligan (arts@thetowerlight.com)
Assistant Arts and Life Editors: Annie Sragner and Robert Wood

Sports Editor: Matthew Hamilton (sports@thetowerlight.com)

Photo Editor: Sarah Hugel (photo@thetowerlight.com)
Assistant Photo Editors: Elizabeth Bonica, Abby Murphy, Patrick Burke and Symone Garvett

Video Producer: Sarah Chmielowiec (video@thetowerlight.com)

Art Director: Kara Bucaro (artdirector@thetowerlight.com)

Associate Art Director: Sydney Adamson

General Manager: Mike Raymond (mike@baltimorestudentmedia.com)