About

The Towerlight is the student-run news organization at Towson University in Baltimore, Maryland. The Towerlight operates on campus and exclusively employs Towson students and alumni but is independent of the University.

We are published by the 501(c)3 non-profit Baltimore Student Media, and our publications include The Towerlight weekly newspaper and the Towerlight Today daily email newsletter, as well as this website.

We rely entirely on advertising and charitable donations for our funding. For more information on donating to support independent student journalism, visit the “Please Donate” page on this site.             For more information on advertising, visit the “Advertising” page.

We encourage letters to the editor and online feedback. Commentaries, letters to the editor, editorial cartoons and other editorial content expresses the opinions of their authors and not necessarily the views of the newspaper.

To reach out to the paper’s editors, please visit our “Contact” page. To submit a letter, please email editor@thetowerlight.com and include “Letter” in the subject line.

To apply, please visit our office (Room 309 in the University Union) or email editor@thetowerlight.com

Mailing Address:

Baltimore Student Media
8000 York Road
Towson, Maryland 21252

Staff contact:

Editor-in-Chief: Cody Boteler (editor@thetowerlight.com) or 240-405-9871

Senior Editor: Samantha Shelton (senior@thetowerlight.com)

News Editor:  (news@thetowerlight.com)

Associate News Editor: Sarah Rowan

Assistant News Editor: Nilo Exar

Arts and Life Editor: Annie Sragner (arts@thetowerlight.com)

Sports Editor: Jordan Cope (sports@thetowerlight.com)

Assistant Sports Editor: Tyler Beard

Photo Editor: Chris Simms (photo@thetowerlight.com)

Video Producer: Sarah Chmielowiec (video@thetowerlight.com)

Assistant Video Producer: Stacey Coles

Art Director: Kara Bucaro (artdirector@thetowerlight.com)

Production Assistant: Daniel Andrews

General Manager: Mike Raymond (mike@baltimorestudentmedia.com)